Maker Pro
Maker Pro

5v Voltage Regulator Help

JoeBear99

Dec 25, 2017
This is my first time putting together a small AC to DC board which converts 240V AC to 5V DC via a 9v 2a transformer, a bridge rectifier and an L4940V5 regulator with a fairly large heatsink, terminating in a USB socket. I've also added an LED in parallel immediately before the USB socket.

The original circuit diagram calls for a 7805 regulator however I opted for a low dropout one as it seemed to be more versatile would I have to use it somewhere else. The schematic I've followed is this one below:

bridge.jpg

The problem I'm having is the USB socket seems to only deliver a maximum of 300 mA (tested with a handset phone and an ammeter). This is somewhat short of the current I was looking to deliver through the USB (800 mA - 1A)

As I understand it, the voltage regulator here drops 4v (9 - 5), which at 300 ma draw, leaves 1.2w to be dissipated as heat. I can confirm the heatsink reaches temps of around 80 degrees c, but I can not tell if this heat is "throttling" the regulator and limiting the maximum current to 300mA. The transformer itself should certainly be capable of handling 2A at 9v AC.

I'm a novice at all this but does anyone have any advice as to what's happening and how I can effectively push closer to 1A through this USB socket?

20171225_152438.jpg

kellys_eye

Jun 25, 2010
You can't 'push' current into a load - it will 'draw' only what it needs and no more. You can fit an additional resistor across the output to deliberately increase the draw but.....why?

JoeBear99

Dec 25, 2017
You can't 'push' current into a load - it will 'draw' only what it needs and no more. You can fit an additional resistor across the output to deliberately increase the draw but.....why?