Connect with us

5v from 12v is this viable?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Truckdrivingfool, Dec 6, 2016.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Truckdrivingfool

Truckdrivingfool

Sep 30, 2012
    I have some cheap usb bluetooth receiver dongles, I want to splice one into an LM386 amp to make a BT speaker to plug into a 12v automotive port.

It works in ltspice but being a noob I want a 2nd option if this is a viable/good way to do it. Is there a simpler way to do it? Do I need the cap on the 5v supply side? Finally whatever 6.2v zener should work but I may need to adjust the resistor to achieve the correct voltage - correct?

[​IMG]

2. Staffan Cronstrom

Staffan Cronstrom

Dec 6, 2016
    Simply use a linear voltage regulator. At least in among others TO92 package there are variants with fixed 5V output. Variants in SOT23 may need one or two external resistors to set the output voltage.
    /SC

davenn likes this.
  3. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    I would be very surprised !!

well maybe just 12V is the max for a LM386N-1 the LM386N-4 can handle 18V max

what 5V side ? the LM386 is seeing 12V !!
    All that stuff to the left of the 12V (V2) PSU isn't doing anything

4. Audioguru

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016
    Your poor little LM386 low power amplifier IC will smoke and burn if you try to have it drive a 4 ohm speaker loudly from a 13.8V supply in a car. It will overheat with only a 10V supply and a 4 ohm speaker but it will produce mostly heat but only a little output power.
    The LM386 is designed to drive an 8 ohm speaker with no more than a 12V supply and will have an output power of 0.5 Watts like a cheap little clock radio.

5. davenn

davenn Moderator

Sep 5, 2009
    true, but in all fairness he though he was supplying it with 5V from his regulator cct. Except, as I said earlier, it's in a position where it isn't doing anything useful ;)

6. Audioguru

Audioguru

Sep 24, 2016