Connect with us

555 output to transformer failure

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by TheMaster, Aug 16, 2016.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. TheMaster

TheMaster

Jul 20, 2016
    I'm a beginner attempting to build a circuit and I'm starting to run out of ideas...
    I need to get a somewhat high voltage and low current (above 2ma) through a 100k load with a small device.
    I thought I could maybe use these small 1:4 and 1:10 transformers/coupled inductor to do the job:
    1:10 Transformer
    1:4 Coupled Inductor
    With the circuit looking like:
    40Ω Resistor is internal resistance
    [​IMG]
    I get somewhat decent results.
    Problem is when I enter the inductance as listed in the datasheet (not leakage inductance) as seen below, everything fails
    [​IMG]
    Voltage and current on load drop drastically. All other parameters of the transformers don't cause problems.

Is there anyway to do this correctly? Or some other way to obtain the desired results? I'm not getting it...
    [​IMG]

2. Alec_t

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
    You are trying to step the voltage up by a factor of 4 x 10 = 400. For 2mA output, that reflects to a 800mA primary current. No way can a tiddly 9V battery with a 40 Ohm internal resistance provide 800mA :(.

3. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    3.3uH is way too small.

Bob

Steven Tyson likes this.
  4. duke37

duke37

Jan 9, 2011
    You will need a square wave from the 555, i.e. equal low and high times. I do not think that the circuit as shown will do this.

What frequency are you generating, 90kHz?

You could wind your own 1:40 transformer or use a buck convertor which can put much more voltage input than 9V, Limited by the transistor permissible voltage.

5. TheMaster

TheMaster

Jul 20, 2016
    I thought 4 x 10 = 40
    Bob, what do you mean it is to small? Am I entering the data in correctly?
    I'm essentially asking if there is a way to do this with these small transformers or not...