Connect with us

4 photo-interrupters in my circuit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by Charybdis, Nov 13, 2013.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. Charybdis

Charybdis

Nov 13, 2013
    Greetings from a newbie!

I'm a 2nd year Electronics student working on a design project. I've designed a bird-counting bird-feeder, using a PIC16F887 chip and 7-segment LED display (4 digit). In order to detect a perching bird to count, I decided to use 4 slotted optical switches (OPB991T55Z), with a mechanical trip on 4 different perches.

My questions are as follows - 1) With the 4 switches in parallel going to the input ports of the chip, will I have enough current to run the detector side of the switches? I don't see where the data sheet for these components specifies a minimum current, only a maximum. I'm running a TTL logic circuit at the usual 5V. I was planning on using a 100-ohm current-limiting resistor. But I'm wondering is this is even necessary if I have 4 branches coming off of the main circuit, besides the current to the chip itself.

2) If I do still need the current-limiting resistor, will it be okay to tie all 4 of the switches to the same resistor off of the main line, or should each switch have it's own resistor at the branch? (It's doubtful that more than 1 input will be triggered at the same exact time, but I suppose it's not impossible.)

Here is the data sheet for the OPB99XXXX series:

http://www.optekinc.com/datasheets/OPB960-990_SERIES.PDF

I appreciate any insights or suggestions.

Thank you!

2. BobK

BobK

Jan 5, 2010
    Look at the If(+) parameter and note 16 on page 5. It specifies that the LED current for detection must be > 15 mA. The datasheet also lists the forward voltage as 1.7V at 20mA, so that is probably the normal operating current. You should have a current limiting resistor for each detector since they will not necessarily share current equally when using only 1 resistor. Calculate the resistor to provide 20mA.