Maker Pro
Maker Pro

4 Channel Diversity Controller

wakesetters

Jun 13, 2013
Hey, just joined this forum.

I am into First Person View (FPV) radio control planes and I have been putting together this project for awhile. I am still new to circuit board electronics and would love some input/feedback on this project.

Basically the idea is to have 4 video recievers using their (RSSI) outputs, build a controller that will select the best signal...

Now i have seen multiple designs on other forums but none that i can find on a diagram with 4 channels.

As can be seen in my diagram the inputs go into a 4 channel comparator chip (LM339). My question is this: 'The negative inputs to the comparator chip, should they be bridged together like this? Will this mean that the highest voltage will be selected from the 4 channels?

diversitycontrollerscot.jpg

Thanks in advance , wakesetters

Last edited:

KrisBlueNZ

Sadly passed away in 2015
Nov 28, 2011
Hi wakesetters and welcome to the electronics point forums :)

That's an interesting problem. No, the circuit you have won't do what you want. There's nothing wrong with tying all the inverting inputs of the quad comparator together; the problem is that there's nothing driving them, so they will just float and pick up noise.

I have some ideas for how to do what you want, but they need work, so I will think about them and get back to you.

In the meantime... You mentioned you've seen circuits that do this with only two inputs; could you post links to some of them please?

Also, is there an issue with video synchronisation? If the cameras aren't synchronised, switching the video signal from one to another will cause the display device to "hiccup" as it loses then regains frame sync. Some TVs might even blank the display for a short time. You don't want the display to black out every time the camera view changes!