3 x 7 segment led countdown

Viad

Feb 9, 2012
I want to build a countdown timer using 3 x 7 segment led displays
I want it to count down from 120 to 0
I shall provide the pulses to operate the counter , 1 pulse per second
At the end of the countdown the counter can sit at 0 or reset to 120
or be manually reset to 120 by a single operation/switch

I apologise if this info is readily available but I can't find a circuit diagram for this.
I see there is a circuit diagram for a 9 to 0 countdown on this site perhaps that could be modified, but I'm a novice and it's beyond me as yet.

A circuit digram for the above or perhaps a book where I can find a suitable circuit would be a great help.

thanks Alan

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Have you Googled for what people have done before?

There are some good options you might consider as a base.

Especially this one.

Viad

Feb 9, 2012
Hi steve and thanks for your reply, yes I had seen the link you posted but the construction was rather daunting to me, it uses a programable chip does it not ? .
I don't want to appear lazy but I don't have the time at present to study and understand the 'more complicated' circuits.
Will I have to use a programable chip to obtain the features I want or can it be done using an expanded version of for example the 0 to 9 counter you describe on this site ?
I can purchase a Velleman kit K8035 up down counter, for very little money, it does more than I require, however I don't think the reset to 120 can be easily achieved ie by an automatic reset or a single switch action.

Am I wasting my time searching for a simple circuit diagram, will I have to use a programable chip, I would have thought what I'm looking for exists but I just can't find it
Alan

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
A programmable chip is really what makes the resetting to 120 a relatively simple proposition.