Maker Pro
Maker Pro

2N2222 NPN Transistor

slr1337

Mar 15, 2014
I am using 2N2222 Transistor to switch a 12v relay on.
Upon checking my circuit my as I power my base on w my arduino it correctly allows continuity between the collector and the emitter. However, when I connect my 12vdc power source (a car battery), It seemingly ignores my transistor and powers on the relay with no power to the base. I am extremely new at building circuits. Is the problem my transistor. How would I know what transistor to use. Thank you for taking the time to read my post. All help is appreciated. Thanks
Code:
                                       Diode 1N4007
                            -----------|---- >|-------|-------+12v-->
                          /            |              |
                         C             |---|Relay|----|
~5vdc     2.2kΩ        /
--------------WW---B--|
                       \
                        E
                         \
                          =
                        Ground

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
1) are you certain you have not switched the emitter and collector around?

2) is your ground common between your arduino 5V supply and and your 12V supply?

3) Are you powering your arduino form a separate supply?

slr1337

Mar 15, 2014
Thanks I'll try it and let ya know.

1) are you certain you have not switched the emitter and collector around?

2) is your ground common between your arduino 5V supply and and your 12V supply?

3) Are you powering your arduino form a separate supply?

1. I am fairly sure, but the transistors did not come with the data sheet and the ones easily found do not seem to match to my transistor quite right. I suppose I could try it the other way. (I will try this in the morning and let yall know)

2. I think I have a "common ground". I am new to this. My arduino ground is connected to the the emitter it is connected to the negative battery terminal as well.