Maker Pro
Maker Pro

2 Graphics Cards 1 Problem

Griffinballs

Jul 23, 2015
Hi all

Got a problem, I have 2 GTX670 4GB. They were running in SLI on the same machine. One day, I believe due to a dodgy iron that has since been replaced. One of them died.
I was using my PC on youtube and all of a sudden, it froze, nothing was responding, not even the hard reset button. Turned it off and on again, PC wasn't starting correctly, kept getting to windows then would black screen and not respond.
Took out one of my graphics cards, problem resolved. Swapped them over, sure enough, one had fully died.

Ran just one graphics card for a few days, then after a while, exactly the same thing happened, to the letter.

So now I'm down two graphics cards.
Just for reference here, I am a PC technician by trade so my diagnosis has been tried and tested and true, they cards be fubared!

Since then I've replaced the iron that was causing the power to trip (the last time one of my gpu's died was immediately after one of these power spikes, the pc was on while I was ironing, iron shorted the power, pc wouldn't come back on, gpu was dead)
I have also now put my PC on a surge protected socket extension (never saw the value of these before, lol, go figure).

I have also replaced my power supply as it was used when I bought it and about 5 years old so I bought a new one. Since then my PC has been fine but I don't currently have any extra GPU in it, I am running intel graphics now.

So anyway, I have these two dead graphics cards, I believe they have pretty much the exact same fault. Hoping maybe you guys can help me figure out what needs replacing. I'm including a load of pictures of the cards, let me know if you need close ups in any particular area.
So far, the only clue I have is, one of the cards has a bit of brown staining around some caps which I've included in the pic, but the other card doesn't appear to have the same set of caps and no staining anywhere.