Connect with us

150v DC-DC buck converter

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by pellepuffin, Feb 15, 2016.

Scroll to continue with content
  1. pellepuffin

pellepuffin

Feb 15, 2016
    Ive looked on ebay for what seems like an eternity for a high voltage input, dc-dc buck regulator, finding nothing over 60V.
    Do anyone have an idea where I can find a buck regulator with max voltage input around 150V >50 watts
    If it can't be bought, what parts would be required in order for me to make one?

It will be used with my 50 watt homemade mini wind turbine. I'm fairly new to this and well aware that building one would push my limits.

2. Arouse1973

Arouse1973 Adam

Dec 18, 2013
    Hello
    Why does it need to be a buck convertor? What are you using this for. It concerns me that you are asking what parts would be needed to build one. What experience in high voltage electronics do you have?
    Thanks
    Adam

3. (*steve*)

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Jan 21, 2010
    If you're planning to get power from your turbine (to charge a battery for example) then you want an MPPT regulator.

This may have a similar topology to a buck converter but the control is different.

If you use the battery under charge as the power source for the controller then only the pass device and the diode need to be rated for the higher input voltage.

4. AnalogKid

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
    Vicor
    SynQor
    XP Power
    Lambda
    Artisyn

5. pellepuffin

pellepuffin

Feb 15, 2016
    I have no experiance of higher voltages. The converter would convert the peak 150v my generator is rated for. Since its only rated for around 50 watts the current is really small. After the regulator i will probably connect a solar charge controller, since they accept the lower voltages.

6. pellepuffin

pellepuffin

Feb 15, 2016