Connect with us

12V solenoid valve recommendation

Discussion in 'General Electronics Discussion' started by dwreck, Sep 4, 2012.

1. dwreck

dwreck

Aug 19, 2012
    Hey guys,

I'm looking for a 12V solenoid valve. I've seen plenty on the internet, but I have never used one before, so not really sure which one to get.

I'll be using it with a 12 or 16 gram co2 cartridge, depending on the dimension. It should be a normally closed valve, and the smaller and lighter the better.

For those of you who have used solenoid valves before, any recommendations please?

I look forward to reading your replies.

Thanks in advance.

2. zms2004

zms2004

Sep 4, 2012
    I most commonly use Asco, smc, or Parker for pneumatic applications. They range from 1/8npt up to whatever size you'd need. All valves that I've used have been Normally closed. I've used all these companies well over 100 times. Check with companies who deal with air suspension. They range from 25$+ usually. Hope that helps some.

3. Electrobrains

Electrobrains

Jan 2, 2012
    I have used SMC, Festo and other brands of valves and I suppose they are all good within their specifications.

What worries me a bit is the intention to use the valve with a CO2 cartridge. I don't know the pressure inside those cartridges. Quickly searching google showed numbers like 800psi, 1000psi...

Be aware of that normal valves for compressed air are usually specified for up to 10 bar (145psi)!
    You could get serious problems there...

4. dwreck

dwreck

Aug 19, 2012
    Thank you both for your reply :)

I honestly wasn't aware of that pressure capacity difference between the cartridge and the solenoid valve. Have to go back to the drawing board now.

5. CocaCola

CocaCola

Apr 7, 2012
    What is the application?

6. dwreck

dwreck

Aug 19, 2012
    Hi CocaCola,

I remember you were helping me out in my first post a couple of weeks back.