Maker Pro
Maker Pro

12v car barrery to 6v to run led lighting and 6v radio incorperating a solar pannel

giffy121

Apr 8, 2012
ive got an alotment and have no elecricity, my idea is to use a car battery to run leds which run on 6v dc, and a radio which runs on 6v dc but in corparate a 12v solar pannel to trickle charge the battery its a maplin 12v 1.5w trickle charger i am new to elecronics so im a bit stuck. as im worried that when i connect solar pannel the voltage will increase the battery output:confused:
any help would be gratefully recived :)

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
If you're using 12V batteries, you need a 12V charger designed to run from solar panels.

You need equipment rated for 12V. For lighting, LED lights incorporating switchmode current regulation is your best bet.

For your 6V radio (the current requirements are likely to be small) you should have a dedicated 6V regulator to power the radio connected to the 12V supply.

Your 12V supply can vary from about 14.5V down to 10.5V, so it is important to have loads that are capable of operating efficiently from that range of voltages.

giffy121

Apr 8, 2012
the solar pannel is a trickle charger designed for 12v car batteries and what 6v regulator would you reccomend as i want a reliable one thanks

(*steve*)

¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd
Jan 21, 2010
Oh, I didn't read that it was a trickle charger.

Is that the entire source of your power? It's not going to provide much power.

What is your lighting load? I would expect that if you're in the UK you'll get the equivalent of maybe 4 hours of sunlight per day in winter (maybe significant;y less)

OK, the UK met office says 2 hours in January and December apparently.

So a 1.5W panel can deliver 3Wh per day during winter (and that's only on days without cloud or fog). That 3Wh will run a 0.5W LED for about 6 hours. It's also the load that a small radio would generate. So you could have 3 hours of something like candlelight with radio per day.