Maker Pro
Maker Pro

120v to 3.7v circuit

joshzstuff

Jul 4, 2010
My project is to build a power supply that will allow devices powered by battery to run on continuous power (mains).

Objectives:
-120AC to 3.7v DC
- smallest package possible
- small power requirements (<150ma output)

One Idea I'm researching now is to use a USB wall adapter.
[I'll post a picture in my next post]

Should I tweak this device, or add a few components to drop the voltage from 5 to 3.7? (i.e. diodes, regulator)

I'm just getting started in learning electronics, so any recommendations on research that will help me understand the principles will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

joshzstuff

Jul 4, 2010
Here is a candidate for the job:
Wall%20USB%20charger.JPG

Any suggestions?

Resqueline

Jul 31, 2009
That there seems to be a USB charger and so may have a specific current limit, but may very well be suited for the job you have in mind.
In the upper right hand corner you find a zener diode between C4 & R6. The markings on it tells the Voltage rating (could be 3.9V). Compare that to the actual output.
Choose a new one being a Volt or so less (such as 2.7V) and try it out. Zeners have a wide tolerance but I guess your application will also tolerate running on 3 to 4.2V.

joshzstuff

Jul 4, 2010
Hello Resqueline,

Yes, it is a USB charger.
That is just the kind of tip I was looking for!

It's been a while, so I'm going to go back and review my zener diodes & "Zener knee voltage"

? How do I interpret the label?
I'll include a close up of the diode.
It looks like it says "C3" and then on the side "4"

Zdiode.JPG

"C3"
Zdiode%20C3.JPG

"4"
Zdiode%204.JPG

I guess your application will also tolerate running on 3 to 4.2V.
I'm powering a camera and replacing the Lithium Polymer battery.
I think I need to get as close to 3.7 as I can because the camera will not function while it is charging (4.1-4.2 volts)