Maker Pro
Maker Pro

120v AC to multiple 12v DC?

Robot

Mar 10, 2014
This is my first attempt at wiring electronics, and my first post here, so I apologize in advance if my question doesn't make any sense. :D

So I'm trying to create a little machine that has ten separate 12v DC components, and I'd like them all to be powered via a single 120v AC wall plug and a single on/off switch.
(I also attached a little diagram showing what I'm trying to do)

My questions are:
1. What would be the best and safest way to do this?
2. Should the on/off switch come before or after the conversion from AC to DC? Or does it not matter?
3. When a current is split up between multiple components, is it split equally between all of them?

Edit: I actually meant six components total, not ten. One small air pump and five thermoelectric cooling/heating plates.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00E4GY0FC/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009X6ADCM/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Attachments

• diagram.png
    diagram.png
    43.8 KB · Views: 183
Last edited:

Arouse1973

Adam
Dec 18, 2013
You need a power adaptor. What current are you expecting the circuits to draw?
Adam

davenn

Sep 5, 2009
One of the components is 30A and the rest are all 5.8A

so you have 5 rails of 12V and each one needs a max of 5.8A ?
and another 12V rail drawing 30A

are these 5 rails really drawing up ~ 5A each ?
if they are really drawing as much as 5.8 A each then the total current for that = 29A
the supply would have to be capable of ~ 35A so as not to be working at max capability
then you have another 30A rail needs to be ~ 35A capability

So now we have a 12VDC supply capable of 70Amps !! that's a hefty PSU
not impossible, but DEFINATELY NOT a first project consideration!! specially when there's mains power involved

for your safety and LONG LIFE
I suggest you do some googling for commercial 12VDC 70A PSU's SMPS ( Switchmode PSU types)