Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Power-One power supply mod

bushtech

Sep 13, 2016
@hevans1944: Thanks, that is very wise advice and I might still go that way. But my take on it is: Buy the cheap chinese kit and use that as a learning test bed to understand what is going on there. By working my way through paulv's journey of discovery I might graduate and start looking at his improved power supply. The scary bit here is that it might lead to the need for a scope.

hevans1944

Hop - AC8NS
Jun 21, 2012
... it might lead to the need for a scope.
An oscilloscope is absolutely essential if you are to make any progress as an electronics hobbyist.

An EICO 460K oscilloscope kit was my second purchase, as a teenager, after building an RCA Voltohmyst WV-77E VTVM (Vacuum Tube Volt Meter), also from a kit. These two instruments truly got me started down the path to becoming an electronics technician. By the time I graduated college with an electrical engineering degree in 1978 at age 34, both instruments had been replaced with more modern equivalents, but I still have fond memories of using them to learn and explore the fascinating world of vacuum tube electronics in the 1960s.

upload_2017-8-9_11-0-1.jpeg upload_2017-8-9_11-0-43.jpeg

Besides test equipment, you need to study and learn electronics theory if you ever expect to progress beyond "monkey see, monkey do" assembly of cheap Chinese copies of OPDs (Other People's Designs). I think the only thing you will learn from that is it is very easy to get ripped off by Asian vendors. Caveat emptor!