Maker Pro
Maker Pro

12v Fan Reduce speed in every minute interval using 555 timer.

Genrick Son

Nov 5, 2015
Hi guys im pretty new to electronics,

I know its to much , Im looking for a simple schematic design about 12v fan that can automaticaly reduce its speed in a minute interval . From 100% speed to 60% to 30% until zero.

regards genrick son,

Alec_t

Jul 7, 2015
Welcome to EP!
Does the fan have a speed-control input? Model/specification?

nepow

Jul 18, 2011
Hi guys im pretty new to electronics,

I know its to much , Im looking for a simple schematic design about 12v fan that can automaticaly reduce its speed in a minute interval . From 100% speed to 60% to 30% until zero.

regards genrick son,
Do's this nead to happenevery time the fan switches on? and how accurate does the timing need to be.

AnalogKid

Jun 10, 2015
To go from full speed to off in 1 minute you gradually reduce the energy available to the fan.

There are two basic ways, analog and digital. Analog means a voltage regulator where either a control voltage is decreased slowly or the negative feedback that establishes the output value is changed slowly. Digital usually means pulse width modulation (PWM), where the duty cycle of the 12 V pulses is changed slowly from 99% to 1%. Note that normal brushless DC (BLDC) fans will not run at very slow speeds, so no matter which method you use, the fan might slow down to maybe 20-25% and then just stop.

What kinds of parts and test equipment do you have available to you, what is your build and test skill set, etc. Which method sounds like something you want to try?

ak

Genrick Son

Nov 5, 2015
Yes sir , every 6 minutes or less , 4 intervals which the last one is turn off .

thanks for fast replies

Last edited:

Genrick Son

Nov 5, 2015
To go from full speed to off in 1 minute you gradually reduce the energy available to the fan.