Maker Pro
Maker Pro

Problem with Vintage Pioneer receiver SX-1000TW Output

Jimkarl

Aug 23, 2014
Have a vintage Pioneer SX-1000TX receiver that the right channel doesn't seem to be working 100%. The output is slightly lower than the left channel and "thin" as best I can describe it (e.g. lacking any body to the sound). I have the schematics and have done some basic trouble shooting but at a loss where to go from here as I'm still learning about electronic/circuits etc. Here's what I've determined so far.

1) Using a old audio signal injector, I believe I narrowed it down to the Main amp unit or beyond. Initially, I thought I thought the problem was in the control amp unit where the tone controls/preamp circuitry all lie, Since it seemed like the lack of gain and lack of "body" could be related to the bass circuitry but injecting the audio signal right at Pins 2 In on the Main Amp unit (post Control Amp Unit shown in the block diagram below) still shows a disparaging difference between the channels.I was afraid to put the injector any further down the circuit as it would getting more severe of a "pop" as I moved the injector through the circuit. It's an old tube EICO Model 324 frequency generator and I'm not sure if it has the proper protection necessary or not, so I didn't want to chance it any further.Given it was designed for old tube radio diagnostics and they have much higher voltages, it probably is, but would like a confirmation from anyone that knows how far down a transistor based circuit it's safe to attempt signal injection.

2) I believe I esr checked many of caps in the main amp section (2nd schematic below), at least those greater than 10uf. Also esr'd the big 1000uf caps that follow the main amp. They all seem fine though it was done with an in circuit measure, so I realize under some cases those readings won't be accurate.