TTL logic problems (can't pull a signal low... how?)

Discussion in 'Circuit Help' started by Rattanee, Aug 6, 2013.

  1. Rattanee

    Rattanee

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Hey folks, I've been into circuit repair for a while, but I've just now gotten into designing my own circuits. I'm trying to build a custom interface between an arcade monitor (CGA) and a computer. I have the software part down, that's not an issue, I have the PC outputting 15khz fine. However I've added several layers of protection to the board so no signal can get to the monitor while it's not up and running in 15khz mode. To put things simple, my entire circuit is now working except for the sync signal blanking.

    I've built this sync combiner circuit: http://members.optusnet.com.au/eviltim/scarte.png

    I have the enable line connected to a 74HC04's output that will go high while all conditions are met, and go low if not. In theory when low, it should pull the signal low as well, killing sync output.

    Now when the 7404 outputs high, all is fine and dandy, everythign works as it should. When it should go however, all that happens is that the sync signal appears on the output of the 7404 as well instead of getting properly pulled to ground. Could anyone point out the probably blatantly obvious problem I'm missing?

    Thanks
     
    Rattanee, Aug 6, 2013
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. Rattanee

    Rattanee

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Typical... as soon as you write the problem down you find the solution :D

    The schematics linked above are to blame. The enable line needs to go -before- the resistor so the input following it won't have a lower potential then the ground the signal is pulled to. Moving the diode before the resistor solved the issue immediately.
     
    Rattanee, Aug 6, 2013
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. Rattanee

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    17,133
    Location:
    Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    Glad to have helped ;)

    Seriously, I have found bugs after explaining code to the cat (It was the only thing that would listen).
     
    (*steve*), Aug 7, 2013
    #3
  4. Rattanee

    davenn Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    5,946
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    speaking of cats and their uses....
    have a look in the comedy thread

    Dave
     
    davenn, Aug 7, 2013
    #4
  5. Rattanee

    Rattanee

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Well... based on the comedy thread... at least now I can say I have more space on my 'static workbench" ehehehe :)
     
    Rattanee, Aug 7, 2013
    #5
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. max-man
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    2,978
    Impmon
    Aug 11, 2005
  2. NishantZala@gmail.com

    pull up and pull downs

    NishantZala@gmail.com, Apr 17, 2006, in forum: Electronic Basics
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    512
    Brian
    Apr 18, 2006
  3. Andrew Crook
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    415
    Andrew Crook
    Nov 13, 2003
  4. ekavirsrikanth@gmail.com

    regarding choosing the Pull and pull down values .....

    ekavirsrikanth@gmail.com, Mar 26, 2008, in forum: Electronic Design
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    430
    David L. Jones
    Mar 26, 2008
  5. muffinman

    ttl <-> ttl: what can go wrong?

    muffinman, Jul 19, 2013, in forum: General Electronics Chat
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    237
    gorgon
    Jul 23, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page