LDR circuit ( Application of transistor as switch)

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects' started by vick5821, Jul 4, 2012.

  1. vick5821

    vick5821 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    MALAYSIA
    Hey guys, I plan to make this simple circuit into a teaching aid for my secondary school teacher for them to let student understand better how LDR works and as an applicationof transistor as switch. So , I plan to make a DIY PCB for that. How am I able to design my circuit so as to easy measurement of the base current ? And what type of connector should I use so that the two point series in the circuit connected to an ammeter ?

    Attachment :
    [​IMG]
    vick5821, Jul 4, 2012
    #1
  2. vick5821

    john monks VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    694
    Location:
    Richmond, California
    I'm afraid you will have to cut the circuit leading to the base and insert a microamp meter in the circuit. Looking at the circuit you may have to adjust the 100K resistor up or down the get the transistor to turn on at the right point.
    john monks, Jul 4, 2012
    #2
  3. vick5821

    vick5821 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    MALAYSIA
    Yayaya, cut at the leading to the base.then insert two header to be connected to ammeter right ?
    vick5821, Jul 4, 2012
    #3
  4. vick5821

    john monks VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    694
    Location:
    Richmond, California
    Yes sir.
    john monks, Jul 4, 2012
    #4
  5. vick5821

    vick5821 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    MALAYSIA
    what type of header?
    vick5821, Jul 4, 2012
    #5
  6. vick5821

    john monks VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    694
    Location:
    Richmond, California
    It mask no difference. I woud probably use banana jacks so that I could easily place a current meter in series with the bas and short out the banana jacks when no meter is in place.
    john monks, Jul 4, 2012
    #6
  7. vick5821

    KrisBlueNZ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,041
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    It might be simpler to put the current shunt on the board and use a multimeter measuring voltage to display the current.

    For example if you choose a current shunt resistance of 1K, you put a 1K resistor in series with the base, with a 2-pin connector connected to the two ends of it. The circuit will work just the same whether or not the base current is being measured. Every microamp of base current will cause a millivolt of voltage drop across the resistor, which can be measured with a multimeter set to a voltage range.

    Another possibility would be to use a jack socket with a normally closed contact, so when nothing is plugged into it, the socket is shorted out and the circuit is complete. When you want to measure the current, you plug in a jack plug that is connected to a microammeter, and the action of plugging the plug into the socket breaks the short circuit and the base current flows through the milliammeter.

    I prefer the first suggestion though.
    KrisBlueNZ, Jul 5, 2012
    #7
  8. vick5821

    vick5821 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    MALAYSIA
    you mean I put a resistor connected to the base ? and then I calculate the current based on theorectical value ?
    vick5821, Jul 5, 2012
    #8
  9. vick5821

    CDRIVE VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,872
    Location:
    S. Florida USA
    Maybe they're not that common any longer but I'm sure they're still available. I'm speaking of Probe Jacks, also called Pin Jacks. Your DMM probes plug directly into them. Also, have you considered placing a 1K in series with the base and measuring the voltage drop instead of current? This way the circuit will work with or without the meter connected. A 1K resistor will give you a direct uA to mV conversion. Example 52uA will read 52mV. Just connect the jacks to opposite ends of the resistor.

    Attached Files:

    CDRIVE, Jul 5, 2012
    #9
  10. vick5821

    vick5821 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    MALAYSIA
    Ya, now I get the idea. then I think I do not need the connector for the ammeter anymore. But I think I should make it easy to measure the voltage for the 1K resistor right ? Any easy implement method ? I plan to make this in quantity
    vick5821, Jul 5, 2012
    #10
  11. vick5821

    CDRIVE VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,872
    Location:
    S. Florida USA
    Looks like we doubled.
    CDRIVE, Jul 5, 2012
    #11
  12. vick5821

    vick5821 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    MALAYSIA
    Eagle file :
    [​IMG]

    Havent finalised yet. Still need to think what to add to make this product better
    vick5821, Jul 5, 2012
    #12
  13. vick5821

    CDRIVE VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    2,872
    Location:
    S. Florida USA
    I don't know what your resources are in Malaysia but Digikey will carry the Pin Jacks that I mentioned.
    CDRIVE, Jul 5, 2012
    #13
  14. vick5821

    vick5821 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    MALAYSIA
    Can I have a look perhaps ? Maybe I can purchase it ? Thank you
    vick5821, Jul 5, 2012
    #14
  15. vick5821

    CocaCola VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,639
    Location:
    Gurnee, Illinois - USA - North America - Planet Ea
    Why not just get a panel mount analog ammeter (about $4 on Ebay) and make it part of the circuit? You could get a digital one for nearly the same cost, but will need an external power supply to run it...
    CocaCola, Jul 5, 2012
    #15
  16. vick5821

    vick5821 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    MALAYSIA
    Can you provide me with link ? but I dont think measuring the current is a better way since the current will be very very small indeed
    vick5821, Jul 5, 2012
    #16
  17. vick5821

    CocaCola VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,639
    Location:
    Gurnee, Illinois - USA - North America - Planet Ea
    Ebay search for "ammeter", selected lowest price first and you should get pages of them for about $4-$5 delivered... Pick one of the appropriate rating...
    CocaCola, Jul 5, 2012
    #17
  18. vick5821

    vick5821 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    MALAYSIA
    vick5821, Jul 5, 2012
    #18
  19. vick5821

    vick5821 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    698
    Location:
    MALAYSIA
    Some of the digital one do not need extra power supply :)
    vick5821, Jul 5, 2012
    #19
  20. vick5821

    CocaCola VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,639
    Location:
    Gurnee, Illinois - USA - North America - Planet Ea
    You might want to double check your findings, digital ones have displays that need to be driven, thus they need a power source...
    CocaCola, Jul 5, 2012
    #20

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. LRCR
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,105
  2. LRCR
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    301
  3. wildman.

    wtd. LDR perhaps to LED circuit - simple plse

    wildman., Mar 7, 2004, in forum: Electronic Design
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    305
    wildman.
    Mar 7, 2004
  4. LRCR
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    264
  5. LRCR
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    302
Loading...

Share This Page