ITI SX-V Alarm system

Discussion in 'Electronics Repair' started by beersly101, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. beersly101

    beersly101

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Hi guys, I have an older system that the alarm company that installed it says that they can't program it any more. The system is a ITI SX-V. The system still works fine but it's showing 91 on the CPU witch means the CPU battery is bad. So my question is will the system loose all its memory if I try to put a new battery in? What type battery? Do I really need a programmer to change programming or can I do it from the touch keypad?

    Thanks
     
    beersly101, Dec 16, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. beersly101

    (*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    17,657
    Location:
    Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    1) possibly
    2) look first
    3) possibly

    We have occasionally had alarm system experts here, so someone may have a better answer. But you're wise to ask, because bad things are certainly a possibility.

    Generally speaking, I would consider changing the CPU battery while the power is on to minimise the risk of loss of data. I would be fairly confident that it's stored in non-volatile memory and that all you will lose is the date and time, but that is by no means certain.
     
    (*steve*), Dec 16, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. beersly101

    beersly101

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for the advice!
     
    beersly101, Dec 16, 2010
    #3
  4. beersly101

    busine9635

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Hello my name is jeff Pauldo

    The Sx-V is no longer Manufactured. It is getting harder and harder to get parts for something that is no longer manufactured. Most alarm Companies will try and upgrade your system to a more up to date system which is quiet costly. The SX-V will loose its memory if you change the battery when the power to the panel is completely gone. If that infacts happened you will then need a programer to program all your door sensors and motions back into the system. I would write down the make of the battery and go to radio shack or a battery company over the internet. Once you have the battery, change the battery with the power on. You should be good.

    Jeff
    JP Electronics & Surveillance
     
    busine9635, Dec 19, 2010
    #4
  5. beersly101

    beersly101

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Jeff, that's exactly what I will do. I was told that the system was programmed at a central station where they monitored it and I wouldn't even be able to program it if I had a hand held programmer. Is this true?

    Thanks Again
    Happy Holidays!
     
    beersly101, Dec 23, 2010
    #5
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. george

    ITI learn mode

    george, Aug 11, 2003, in forum: Security Alarms
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    443
    David Kratz
    Aug 11, 2003
  2. Billy

    ITI GE Simon v3 Motion Detectors

    Billy, Sep 5, 2003, in forum: Security Alarms
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    590
    Mark Leuck
    Sep 6, 2003
  3. Earl T

    ITI Simon 3 Outgoing Dialer

    Earl T, Sep 30, 2003, in forum: Security Alarms
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    319
    Earl T
    Sep 30, 2003
  4. Marc

    ITI Caretaker

    Marc, Oct 18, 2003, in forum: Security Alarms
    Replies:
    13
    Views:
    1,271
    Jim Rojas
    Oct 20, 2003
  5. V. Trace
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    2,029
    jtlawton@worldnet.att.net
    Jun 7, 2004
Loading...

Share This Page