Connected space heater

Discussion in 'Electronic Projects' started by syoutsey, Nov 16, 2013.

1. syoutsey

syoutsey

Hey all,

I'm looking at building a setup which will act as a remote on/off switch for a space heater. I plan on buying a heater with a switch that you can essentially unplug from the wall to turn it off and plug it in to turn it on.

I'd like to build, using an Arduino or Raspberry Pi, something that will poll an internet resource and turn the heater on/off. Using the Arduinos pin outs I'm hoping I could accomplish this. I can handle the software side of the device (I'm a software engineer by trade) but would love some help on what kind of hardware to get setup. A relay connected to the Arduino? Any input would be great.

Thanks!

syoutsey, Nov 16, 2013
    1. Advertising

2. syoutsey

(*steve*) ¡sǝpodᴉʇuɐ ǝɥʇ ɹɐǝɥd Moderator

Mid way between Beijing and the Ronne Ice Shelf
    When you say "remote controlled" are you meaning "wirelessly avtivated" or are you talking about using a low level control signal along a cable (e.g. a 5V signal or an open/closed circuit that carries a few mA).

If you want a small signal through a wired interface, there's no need for an arduino. Just a signal cable, and a transistor to drive a relay (plus a few ancillary components)

If you're thinking wireless, then perhaps you could read this thread where an option that you could use was raised (but probably abandoned due to a better solution being found)

http://www.electronicspoint.com/serial-wireless-communication-t265255.html

(*steve*), Nov 17, 2013
    1. Advertising

3. syoutsey

syoutsey

It'd be wireless as it's in a room where it's tough to run wires. So, the ideal setup would be the arduino polling a web resource every minute or so to see if a value has changed, and if so open/close the relay accordingly. Is there a relay you can recommend that would respond to the arduino or another place where I could dig up this info?

Thanks for the reply!