AC or DC Fuse

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by negash, Mar 18, 2010.

  1. negash

    negash

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    I like buy a fuse 15A but I don't know type of fuse depend on using ac or dc.
    There is defferenc type of fuse in between ac & dc voltage .Simply I side there is defferent between ac fuse & dc fuse
    negash, Mar 18, 2010
    #1
  2. negash

    (*steve*) There is no spoon! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    15,631
    Location:
    Mid way twixt Beijing and the the Ronne Ice Shelf
    Generally speaking -- for low currents, and moderate voltages -- no.

    If you are replacing a blown fuse, then getting one that has the same physical package and rating will be OK.

    If you were designing a circuit, then you would have to look at the ratings to determine if the type was suitable, but for already manufactured equipment that will not be an issue.

    I just *know* that "somebody" will jump on me for saying what I just said.

    That information is totally wrong if you're talking about 3000A fuses. Here is a discussion of areas where AC and DC fuses are different. Here is a manufacturer of such fuses, with some products that are specially designed for DC.

    And here is a discussion about AC/DC on fuse.tv :)
    (*steve*), Mar 19, 2010
    #2
  3. negash

    neon VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,325
    there is a difference in AC and DC fuses besides amps and volts An AC fuses is rated to the average value of .639 of the voltage since it flatuate back and forth. Never the less fuses are there not to protect the circuit in general but to stop fires. A 1 amp fuse can blow at 2 amps they are protection not guaratees. a 500 amp fuse the size of 2 inch may have a silver strip of yes 1/8 inch the rest is sand to colapse and control the ionization flush. even fast fuses are not guaranty of precise 1 amp blow protection.
    neon, Mar 25, 2010
    #3

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Junkmail789

    Fuse and LED design question

    Junkmail789, Oct 8, 2003, in forum: Electronic Basics
    Replies:
    31
    Views:
    648
    Rich Grise
    Oct 20, 2003
  2. tempus fugit

    fuse with resistor in it?

    tempus fugit, Nov 10, 2003, in forum: Electronic Basics
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    2,010
    Ross Mac
    Nov 16, 2003
  3. BrianAlex
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    583
    hr(bob) hofmann@att.net
    Jan 6, 2009
  4. GreenTea

    Simple 50mA fuse, but not using a Fuse.

    GreenTea, Sep 1, 2010, in forum: Circuit Help
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    1,647
    (*steve*)
    Sep 19, 2010
  5. GeetarGal

    Can I replace a glass fuse with a ceramic fuse?

    GeetarGal, Mar 5, 2014, in forum: Electronics Repair
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    113
    shrtrnd
    Mar 6, 2014
Loading...

Share This Page